Ridiculous (Beauty) Human Standards

There is a lot of things going through my mind as I write this that I don’t even know where to start. So I apologize in advance for the somehow rant-like entry I’m about to deploy.

First of all, what’s with all these things I see online about “real women have thigh gaps.” And there are some like “real women don’t wear makeup.”

Seriously?

You have got to be kidding me.

Now, I might sound a bit bitchy or feminist or something but please let me finish first.

A woman can be whoever or whatever the fuck she wants to be. And nobody should ever, EVER, take that away from her.

Maybe I would suggest doing some research first for those people who would post some shitty stuff like that, but for your information, not everyone is built to have thigh gaps. Each body is unique in its own way. And by posting negative things like real women have thigh gaps, it’s practically an insult and it’s like you’re shoving it down someone else’s throat. So instead of posting that shit, just encourage someone to embrace their own body no matter how they are made. That’s the least you can say to another person, stranger or not.

Who knows, you might even be responsible for someone’s death. Sounds too much but there’s a possibility. Like when a teenage girl reads that post so she starts to starve herself just to get thin, and drink pills she shouldn’t be drinking, or sometimes go beyond human measure that will do more harm than good. That’s just cruel.

And a woman can wear makeup whenever she wants to wear it. It makes us feel flawless and beautiful once in a while, we wear it to look our best, to be presentable, to look like a decent human being.

And not all of us wear makeup just to get the attention of others, so stand the fuck down.

This is for the men as well. Lately, I’ve read a post about real men don’t wash the dishes.

W. T. F.

That’s called being lazy, whoever started that, you dumbass. And you do not want to associate with these types of people who would post things like that. That’s just fucking ricidulous. Now, I know most men would normally ignore this because they’re not into drama and other telenovela-like bullshit, but I just want to get it out of my system. Ha!

The other day, I was wearing shorts (because it was hot outside) to hang out with my friends at the mall and then I happen to ran into an acquaintance of mine. And she deliberately said, “Eww, you have hair on your legs!” And it was pretty fucking loud that some people looked over and stared at my legs.

I wouldn’t say that I was embarrassed for not shaving my legs, I was just angry at that person for being a fucktard-kind of ignorant. Who in the world is born without hair on their legs? So I swore not to talk to this idiot anymore. Just because society says it’s unattractive to have hair on your legs doesn’t mean you have to shove it down someone else’s throat. It’s none of your business if a person shaves his or her legs or not.

Everyone seems to blame society but WE ARE SOCIETY.

And that, my friend, is the ugly truth.

I admit, I happened to judge people based on the clothes they wear, or hiw many piercings they have, or how ugly their hair is, or how much acne they’ve got on their face.

But now I know better, sounds weird but I’m glad even if I learned that the hard way. It was back in high school when I started to have an acne breakout because I was staying up late at night to finish school projects and assignments. Only then I realized that everyone is the way they are because reasons.

Everyone is fighting a battle we know nothing about.

Like that man has a woman’s name tattooed on his arm because he wants to honor his mother’s memory who died a few months ago. Or that girl has a brightly-colored hair because it makes her happy when nobody else does.

There are endless of reasons why a person is the way they are. But let’s not confuse reason with excuse. Those two are completely different things.

We all have something to say to a person we meet, we just met, we just saw, we passed by, but please let’s keep those opinions to ourselves. It’s their lives, not yours. Sure you can say your opinion and it can stand where it is, but that doesn’t mean you have the right to dictate to someone on how they should live their life. Don’t say I didn’t warn you though, it’s not my fault if you end up someone’s punching bag because you couldn’t shut your damn mouth.

And finally, this is for the people who were told that they are not good enough, that they don’t dress well, that they look like ex-convicts because of their tattoos, that they couldn’t sing well ebough or perform well enough.

You are not what other people say.

You are what you believe yourself to be.

You are what you think you are.

These people don’t know you well enough obviously that’s why they say those negative things, so why should you listen to them?

Don’t let other people make you think less of yourself.

Have a great day, everyone.

Leave a comment